“Danube” 2014-2020 transnational cooperation programme

“Danube” 2014-2020 Transnational Cooperation Programme is a financial instrument to promote and initiate project ideas related to overcoming common challenges and needs in specific areas to achieve real benefit for the people and build effective relationships between authorities and organisations in the Danube region.

The regions covered by the Programme are on the territory of 9 Member States: Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Germany (federal states of Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg), Croatia, Hungary, Romania, Slovenia and Slovakia and the 3 candidate countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro. Moldova and 4 regions of Ukraine (Zakarpattia, Ivano-Frankivsk, Chernivtsi and Odessa region) may also participate in the Programme with funding from the European Neighbourhood Instrument.

The total funds amount to MEUR 262.9 provided by the European Regional Development Fund, the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance and national co-financing. It is also envisaged cofinancing from the European Neighbourhood Instrument.

The Programme has 4 priority axes:

  • PA 1 “Innovative and socially responsible Danube region”,
  • PA 2 “Environment and culture responsible Danube region”,
  • PA 3 “Better connected and energy responsible Danube region” and
  • PA 4 “Well-governed Danube region”.
  • Beneficiaries of the Programme can be national, regional and local authorities and non-governmental and private organisations.